Select Page

5 Ghanaian clubs are expected to win more than $500,000 in World Cup prizes from FIFA.

5 Ghanaian clubs are expected to win more than $500,000 in World Cup prizes from FIFA.

Five Ghanaian teams will each get more than $500,000 from the FIFA Club Benefits Programme in appreciation of their players’ participation in the Black Stars squad at the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The beneficiary clubs will share a total of $565,772.42 that the Ghana Football Association (GFA) has received from FIFA.

The fortunate recipients of this scheme include Asante Kotoko, Hearts of Oak, King Faisal, Dreams Football Club, and Steadfast Football Club.

Hearts of Oak won the largest payment of $219,008.70 out of the group, followed by Kotoko with $200,757.97.

Dreams and King Faisal each received $18,250.72, while Steadfast won $109,504.72.

Two players from the Ghana Premier League, Daniel Afriyie-Barnieh of Hearts and Danlad Ibrahim of Kotoko, were part of Ghana’s World Cup squad.

In addition, King Faisal, Steadfast, and Dreams qualified for the prizes thanks to the participation of their players in the Black Stars’ World Cup qualifying games.

No matter how many minutes they played during the competition, each of the 837 footballers is qualified to receive a daily sum of $10,950 under the Club Benefits Programme.

Up until the conclusion of the group stage, Ghana was still in the competition.

The FIFA Club Benefits Programme is a programme designed to recognise the role that football clubs played during the World Cup.

With distribution enabled by member organisations to clubs that made their players available for their national teams, it offers financial prizes to clubs based on the money made from the competition.

Prior to the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, this scheme was initially implemented, and it will see a total of $209 million awarded to clubs globally for their player contributions to the Qatar 2022 edition.

The benefits for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil totaled $70 million, an increase from the $40 million allocated for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. A similar sum was given out for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

About The Author